On Friday, October 10, 2014, the Middle Georgia Regional Commission announced the Regional Leadership Champions Program, a new initiative of the Middle Georgia Regional Commission unlike any other program in the state. With a unique focus on regional collaboration, the MGRLC Program will equip the next generation of leaders for the challenges of collective action in the 21st Century. The Regional Commission is pleased to partner with the J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership at the University of Georgia to assist with the design and implementation of this program.

The MGRLC Program will draw a diverse cross-section of applicants from across middle Georgia. Participants may include those with backgrounds in government, industry, business, academia, and the faith and non-profit sector. Residents of Baldwin, Crawford, Houston, Jones, Macon-Bibb, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Twiggs, and Wilkinson Counties who desire to be leaders for middle Georgia are eligible to apply.

The Middle Georgia Regional Leadership Champions Program will consist of seven informative and interactive sessions designed to help participants identify key community issues facing middle Georgia, while imparting relevant leadership skills through adaptive and reflective learning experiences. Beginning in January 2015, program participants will meet once a month in different locations throughout middle Georgia. The program will run until August 2015, at which point participants will be charged with applying the leadership skills and knowledge gained in the Leadership Champions Program.

The Middle Georgia Regional Commission is seeking program participants who will be challenged to help build a stronger, more vibrant, and diverse middle Georgia. Potential applicants are invited to learn more by visiting the MGRC website: http://www.middlegeorgiarc.org. This program is supported by a grant from the Department of Defense Office of Economic Adjustment. If selected, tuition is $125.00. Applications may also be found on the MGRC website and are due by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, November 7, 2014.